I am back!!! The Toddler is a Preschooler and she knows EVERYTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So between being a Mum and a full time worker I took a small break from blogging. Somehow I will sit down and write that blog tomorrow turned into next week then next month then next year then WOW two years, where did I write down my password. ALAS I found it and I am back.

So a few changes in two years my fussy eating, world domineering toddler is now a Pre-schooler !!!!!! She is so wise telling me all about letters and numbers and how her teacher is always right, for example if I say NO to juice she informs me “It is ok mummy Ms K said there is no sugar in juice I can have it”. Oh my darling so wise =) I find myself saying my own Mother’s favourites “WELL your teacher isn’t here and I am the Boss at home” not to be outdone from my quick-witted mini bossy boots with a short and sweet reply “No I am”. We have begun the eye-rolling, sassy, I know it all stage. However when this is done in a tutu with pigtails in her hair, it is very convincing and I am losing a lot of arguments (wonder which parent she inherited her attitude from).

I think her view of turning me into a sleep deprived Zombie has changed though. Pre-schoolers realise they need us adults around to drive them to play-dates, organise show and tell and cook dinner. I am not fooled though these cute little “Let it go” singers are still set on world domination and keep us parents at a level of exhaustion,so that we are easily manipulated into letting them control the TV remote and eat Jelly beans at 5am on a Saturday morning.

I have noted some big differences between being the mother of a toddler to a mother of a pre-schooler and thought I would highlight them for my fellow parents still in the toddler stage please view a short list below:

Lets kick it off with trips in public:

Toddler Mum: There is absolutely no point they just run away, coffee goes cold,everyone cries (I mean EVERYONE)

Pre-schooler Mum: We can go anywhere as long as there is a playroom or Jungle gym and OMG most family pubs have these (in emergency pack IPAD if no play area) buy some chicken nuggets for child, wine for mum, beer for dad and  everyone is happy!!!!!!

Food Shopping:

Toddler Mum: Enter store, toddler starts screaming in a banshee like state, forget what you came for, leave unsuccessful with some pouch yoghurts, nappies and a bottle of wine(adults don’t need food anyhow).Is it bedtime yet!!

Pre-schooler Mum: My child LOOOVVEESS shopping, helps push trolley, picks out which fruit she wants, we walk around casually with your shopping list smiling at the poor mum with the toddler having a breakdown in aisle 3, leave handing your child the chuppa chup you promised (bribed) them if they are on their best behaviour.(bottle of wine already at home because we stock the stuff at all times after making it through toddler hood).

Having people over:

Toddler Mum: Runs around insanely trying to make house semi clean before guests arrive, forget you are wearing a yoghurt stained shirt you have now had on for two days, greet guests with screaming toddler on hip, recall that you were supposed to buy nibbles again, put out some stale rice crackers and water as you are out of coffee, toddler climbs on guest and screams at you for attention the whole time, guest leaves (vow next time will be a childless girls night instead!!!!!!!)

Pre-schooler mum: This age is perfect they understand help me clean or I will throw out your toys, they ask who is coming over and are excited to see said guest, helps you get dressed while picking out their favourite toy and dress up outfit to show guest, you have the fridge stocked and nibbles ready wine is chilled, guest arrives, pre-schooler explains how big and smart they are before going to watch a movie on TV everyone is happy!!!!!!!!!!!!

So there is hope, touch wood so far being a mother of a Pre-schooler rocks she thinks I am awesome, she entertains me with her wealth of knowledge and we can go in public and appear normal. Happy days to all my fellow parenting warriors, friends and family xo.

Standard

Leave a Reply

